Silence Presents New Hermitage, Joyful Joyful & Joe Sorbara

Silence Presents New Hermitage, Joyful Joyful & Joe Sorbara

June 19, 2023

New Hermitage tour poster 2023

Doors 7:30pm

Show 8pm


Ambient chamber ensemble New Hermitage is comprised of Andrew MacKelvie on woodwinds, Ellen Gibling on harp, India Gailey on cello, and Ross Burns on guitar. Their improvisations evolve with intentionality, given shape by the environment as the environment is shaped by the music. Inspired by the ethos of listening practices from their collective teacher Jerry Granelli and sonic pioneer Pauline Oliveros, New Hermitage dismantles hierarchical systems of harmony, form, and orchestration within their music. The result is an indiscernible sound, the aggregate, constantly moving forward.

Based in Kjipuktuk, the unceded ancestral home and territory of the Mi’kma’ki people (Halifax, Nova Scotia), New Hermitage has been an active member of the improvised music community on Canada’s East Coast since 2016. New Hermitage has shared bills with artists such as Angel Bat Dawid, chik white, Joyful Joyful, Michael C Duguay, and i d m theft able. Among their live recordings are two performances with renowned bass clarinetist Jeff Reilly, one of which won Music Nova Scotia’s “Classical Recording of the Year” award. New Hermitage’s first studio album, Unearth, was released in 2020 to critical acclaim.